The Flawless Hummus Recipe

I have a confession to make: I never liked hummus. It just wasn’t my thing. But then one day, after ‘retrying’ it and finding it slightly more amicable than I remembered, I decided to make my own. And then everything fell into place for me and this delicious dip. I started to enjoy it…really enjoy it. It’s a natural partner to any type of cracker (and let’s not forget about pita bread!) and I don’t think it ever met a snackable veggie it didn’t like. Red peppers? Yes. Cherry tomatoes? A match made in heaven. Anyway, you get the idea. Hummus is a versatile, delicious, easy to make and healthy snack. Throw a few ingredients in the blender and there you have it – a superdip that’s sure to be your friend. This recipe is down to my culinary creativity and determination to win my war against hummus!

 
Classic Hummus

Yield: About 2 cups, or 3-4 servings 

Ingredients 

1 can (8.5 oz) of garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained

1/2 cup of water

3 tbs of olive oil

1 small clove of garlic, crushed

2 tsp of tahini

1 1/2 tbs of freshly squeezed lemon juice

1/2 tsp of paprika

1/2 tsp of salt

1/4 tsp of black pepper

1 tsp of fresh parsley, minced

A sprinkle of red pepper flakes


Instructions

In the blender or food processor, blend the garbanzo beans and water until smooth. Add the rest of the ingredients and blend until all are combined. Taste and adjust any necessary flavors. Garnish with extra parsley, pepper flakes and a drizzle of olive oil, and serve with your favorite crackers, bread or veggies. Here I just used simple tortillas made crispy in the oven!

Two notes: I make this recipe in a small quantity because it is best if consumed within a day or two. Also, if you don’t like pepper flakes or tahini, don’t worry about leaving them out; the hummus will still be delicious!


Leave a Reply

