Dragonfruit, Strawberry and Banana Smoothie

Lately, I’ve been enjoying some amazing new smoothies and thought this recipe would be a great one to start off the sharing. A triple nutritional score of banana, strawberries and dragonfruit, this smoothie has a wonderful fruit flavor combo and is absolutely brimming with health benefits. In particular, it’s a real immune system booster, thanks to all the vitamin c and the coconut oil. And of course, this quick snack is a great way to sneak a few extra nutrients into your diet, especially on those days when you’re pressed for time!


Naturally, having heard about the incredible health benefits of dragonfruit, I was pretty excited to discover that the yellow variety is readily available here in Ecuador. In fact, I’m kind of kicking myself for not thinking about dragonfruit earlier. Talk about missing out! This super fruit reminds me of kiwi in its texture, but has a much milder (and for me more agreeable!) taste that seems to go well with every other fruit I’ve paired it with so far. I figure a delicious super fruit deserves double the credit!


And finally, all this thinking and reading about dragonfruit, or pitahaya, as it’s known here, got me thinking about what it means to eat and live healthfully. In a nutshell, my philosophy is all about balance. I believe in eating wholesome, fresh foods whenever possible, but also that food is meant to be enjoyed, whether it’s fresh produce or a piece of cake. I’m not a calorie counter or a gym rat (fresh air always wins that contest for me!), but I love indulging in some light exercise, like jogging and yoga. This has been one of my best food related discoveries: a healthful lifestyle can actually be enjoyable. Hence the dragonfruit smoothie!

Dragonfruit, Strawberry & Banana Smoothie

Yield: 18 oz, or 2 servings

Ingredients

2 1/2 oz of banana, sliced

2 1/2 oz of strawberries, halved

3 1/4 oz of dragonfruit, peeled and cubed

2 tbs of plain Greek yogurt

1/2 cup of milk of your choice

3 ice cubes

1 tbs of raw honey

1 tbs of coconut oil

1/2 tbs of maca powder (optional)

1 tsp of chia seeds


Directions 

Place all the ingredients in the blender and blend until smooth.

Garnish with extra fruit and enjoy cold.

A note: Fresh fruit or frozen works equally well, so feel free to use whichever is easier!

  

  

Leave a Reply

