Delighting in the Details: Spittal Pond, Bermuda

Have you ever had one of those weeks where you just need to take a step back, disconnect yourself from the endless digital accounts, and take a breath? Well, that was me last week. I felt constantly plugged in, with too many things to keep in mind. Of course, this is far from an unusual problem these days. Who doesn’t feel flooded with emails, notifications, tasks and other easily forgettable minutiae? We all know we need to disconnect, digitally and perhaps a bit mentally too, and relax.  The question is: how?

Fortunately for me, I live in place filled with so much natural beauty, that it’s hard not to want to step outside. So last weekend I did one of the things I enjoy most: take pictures. My husband and I went to Spittal Pond, Bermuda’s largest nature reserve, and just walked and enjoyed being outside. No wifi, no data, no noise, just 60 acres of some of Bermuda’s most stunning scenery. From the rocky sea shore to the walking trails, I snapped shots of everything: splashing waves, flower petals, the patterns on a crab’s shell, the pond, and of course the views. Despite the heat, it was an absolutely beautiful day, and several hours (and few kilometres!) later we both felt completely refreshed. In the end, taking a breath was exactly what we had needed!

How do you like to take a step back and relax?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Delighting in the Details: Spittal Pond, Bermuda

  1. Submerging back into nature is also my favourite way of reconnecting with myself and leaving the digital generation behind. I like to squish my toes into a sandy beach and lay on the grass and watch the clouds float by, then similar to you I like to take pictures of flowers and pretty views! Glad that you feel refreshed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

